Some Minutes Before 6p.m.

Standard
Its barely some minutes remaining
Before people say its six o’clock
But to me, its already six o’clock
Because I feel like skipping the minutes
I feel like skipping the hours
Just to do away with this lonely evening
Hoping to see the next day
Maybe it will be a fertile one for me
A day I won’t have this kind of feelings

Some minutes before six o’clock
Just having a cool breeze evening walk
People discussing with each other
Me talking to my lonely self
Drown with all the thought of mine and others
My eyes rolling faster than ever
My heartbeat increasing
I know there are some questions to answer

Obeying my eyes
Turning my neck
Lo and behold
All walking in pairs
The guys and the ladies
I mean none walking single
This really slowed my heartbeat
And it makes me feel like a fish in a tiger kingdom

Then I start to ponder
Many questions envelop me
Then I managed to bring out one
Throwing it out to myself
Are they players than I am?
Now my legs are weak and I stop walking

Still in the traffic jam of my thought
Still thinking on how to solve this puzzle
Looking for how to pair up tomorrow
I feel a tap on my back
Then a voice common saying
So low the voice was that my shadow can’t get it
“Stop thinking and blaming yourself
You are just too timid”

© Chris Ekong

4 responses »

  1. Hello there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate!
    He always kept talking about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I had
    to ask. Does managing a well-established website like yours require
    a lot of work? I am completely new to operating a blog but I do write in my journal on a daily basis.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new
    aspiring bloggers. Appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

